Kansas ~ Dust in The Wind

Dust in the Wind is a beautiful, haunting song I have been listening to for most of my life.  Until recently, however, I had never truly ‘heard’ it.  My mother suggested we listen to it a week or so ago, and for the first time I found myself paying attention to the lyrics, the instruments, and sound of this man’s voice.  It changed me as a person.  The notes of the guitar made my heart feel ridiculously light, I fell in love with the passion in his voice, the gorgeous strings of the violin transfixed me, putting me under a spell of emotions I knew, yet never realized I was experiencing.  From that moment on, I sought to have a new relationship with music.  Reflecting back, I believe my enthrallment can be best described in the song Finally Moving by The Pretty Lights.

At the point of having this experience, I was feeling stressed and overwhelmed by my new academic and social life.  I felt dragged under the water by not having enough time for everything I needed to achieve.  What cried out to me first in this song was the lyric “all your money won’t another minute buy”.  I realized the pressure and frantic confusion I was encouraging in myself, was stupid, and that I was destroying my life.  For the first time I can remember, I became the single most important thing in my life.  I understood that what I was trying to accomplish was there to help, not harm me.  I loved “everything crumbles to the ground though we refuse to see”.  My focus turned inward to myself, and I isolated what was important to me: deeply feeling and experiencing.  I valued attention to detail.  Living in depth became important to me.

Whoa, I was immersed in revelation, all because I took the time to listen to a song.  Finally, ‘being in the moment’ and ‘being in the present’ made complete sense.  I suppose I had understood them before, but gave them no value, took the advice for granted.  Really, I don’t think I understood what they meant.  I thought I was in the moment, I was in present. This event showed me clearly I wasn’t and hadn’t been since I was a small child.  This makes me wonder what else I think I embrace, but in reality am only grazing on the surface…  I realized the message of Realize It by The Dirty Heads.

Leave a comment